The Board of Trustees

  • Charles A. Amundsen, Chairperson
  • Susan M. Campbell
  • Mark A. DiPisa
  • David Fisher
  • Tonda Hill
  • Joseph Patella
  • Bernard M. Rosenstein
Professional Advisory Board
  • Howard Abikoff, Ph.D.
  • Russell A. Barkley, Ph.D.
  • Robert B. Brooks, Ph.D.
  • Martha B. Denckla, M.D.
  • Sam Goldstein, Ph.D.
  • Ross W. Greene, Ph.D.
  • Steven Mattis, Ph.D.
  • Steven Schachter, M.D.
Bench at The Community School

Our Founder

Beatrice Lieben
Beatrice Lieben, Ph.D., Founder

More than half a century ago noted child psychologist Dr. Beatrice Lieben recognized that many intelligent children with learning issues were neglected by educators because of the subtle, often hidden nature of their difficulties. In response, Dr. Lieben co-founded the Community School to demonstrate that a strong academic program, taught by skilled teachers and a supportive staff could successfully meet the remedial and developmental needs of learning disabled children. The Community School, now two schools, has continued to evolve but Dr. Lieben’s mission has not changed.